PDA

View Full Version : What am I doing wrong?

Thomas-Virginia
05-28-2006, 12:06 AM
Hello, and thank you for being interested in helping me. I'm an amateur mead-maker and recently I have made my second batch of mead. The problem is that my friends think it's bad though I dont. It is a metheglin and has a very strong taste, it has aged 3 months. The recipe will be listed below I think I just need to age it a little more. When making, I boiled the water and added the honey slowly then the spices and all with a candy thermometer so the temp was right on and the yeast was not added until it reached below 100. The fermentation was done in a corked and air-locked, glass fermentation jug. It was kept in my basement in the dark so it's been pretty cold. As much as I read about what others have done and common mistakes I cant seem to find anything that would suggest that my mead is anything other than perfect. Thanks in advance for any help.

1 quart premium light honey
3 quarts water
2 whole nutmeg (sliced)
2 cinnamon sticks
1 sliced ginger root (small)
10 + cloves
1 lemon sliced (peel and all)
Mix all ingredients together in an enamel pot and boil for 10 minutes, stirring constantly with a non-metal spool. Let cool to about 104F and add one package of champagne yeast.

Oskaar
05-28-2006, 01:12 AM
Way too much spice for me dude.

1 nutmeg
1 cinnamon stick
1 sm portion of the ginger root
and a couple of cloves would have been fine for me in this setup.

But, your tastebuds are the ones that matter so if it floats your boat, GFI!

cheers,

Oskaar

Thomas-Virginia
05-28-2006, 12:23 PM