PDA

View Full Version : World's Greatest Eggnog

GrantLee63
08-14-2006, 08:36 PM
Yeah I know it's only the middle of August, but hey, we all know that the Holiday Season will be upon us before we know it. With that being said, I'd like to share with you an eggnog recipe that I've been making for my family every year for the past 18 years.

Although I've never deviated from the recipe, this year I'm going to be adding a couple of split-in-half vanilla beans as I think some vanilla flavor would only improve it. And it only took me 18 years to figure that out !

Here is the article / recipe as I found it in the December 21, 1988 Detroit News:

THE WORLD'S GREATEST EGGNOG

There are two kinds of eggnog in the world, mine and sorry imitations of mine. Mine is velvety, creamy and redolent of bourbon. It induces a dream-like state a poet once referred to as a “long winter’s nap.” Soupy imitation eggnogs contain fruit juice, rum, or – heaven forbid – eggnog ice cream. They are for “people on the go.”

Mine is made for people going nowhere. My eggnog is for people who want to remain pleasantly immobile, who want to spend time talking with people they care about. It is a drink for holiday gatherings where the slow ebb and flow of life, rather than a quick-silver business deal, is what people want to talk about. If this steady-as-she-goes pace bothers you, then my eggnog is NOT for you.

Nor is it for folks who are phobic about calories, cholesterol or alcohol. My eggnog has all that stuff. My eggnog is an old-fashioned, indulgent drink that relies on the old-time remedy of common sense to prevent any abuses.

I am frequently asked questions about my eggnog. Questions like; “Is it a lot of work to make?” The answer is “Yes.” The first step of the eggnog-making procedure, mixing the sugar and the bourbon, begins the night before the other steps needed to complete the elixir can commence.