PDA

View Full Version : making sure i have it right

some guy
09-26-2006, 04:28 PM
hello all, i am new to the mead making idea and i am really interested in it. i have been reading any and every internet site that i can find on it and then i came to this place, which by far has been the most helpful.

i just wanted to make sure that i had the process right before i go spending money on stuff to do this.

get water to an almost boiling temp, add raw honey, let it cool add yeast/ingredients (berries, orange, grapes what have you) allow it to ferment in the carboy, transfer it to another carboy (to get rid of the old dead and dormant yeast and other nasties) add a few more items (yeast energizer and yeast "food") allow it to ferment a little more then bottle it....

do i have that right or do i need to go and read some more?

thankyou for the help, i appriciate it

Dan McFeeley
09-26-2006, 04:46 PM
hello all, i am new to the mead making idea and i am really interested in it. i have been reading any and every internet site that i can find on it and then i came to this place, which by far has been the most helpful.

i just wanted to make sure that i had the process right before i go spending money on stuff to do this.

get water to an almost boiling temp, add raw honey, let it cool add yeast/ingredients (berries, orange, grapes what have you) allow it to ferment in the carboy, transfer it to another carboy (to get rid of the old dead and dormant yeast and other nasties) add a few more items (yeast energizer and yeast "food") allow it to ferment a little more then bottle it....

do i have that right or do i need to go and read some more?

thankyou for the help, i appriciate it

Hello, welcome to the forums!