PDA

View Full Version : The *NEW* and *IMPROVED* Chat room!



webmaster
11-28-2006, 12:30 AM
OK folks, put your hands together for Oskaar, who made a grant to Gotmead to purchase fabulous new chat room software!

You can find a shoutbox in the left column where the old one was, and a WHOLE NEW CHAT ENGINE AND MULTIPLE ROOMS, WITH PM AND PRIVATE ROOM CAPABILITY!!! in the top menu.

Patrons, go check it out, and please give me feedback on tweaks, I just put it up, and haven't tweaked it much.

I am working on putting in special all-access rooms that we can use for non-patrons to attend special Ask The Experts sessions.

More new toys to come, soon's I get the durn things working......

Vicky - toiling away in my workshop......

GrantLee63
11-28-2006, 06:10 AM
Vicky - As of 5:09 AM 11/28/2006, I see dialogue there from Oskaar and JamesP, but I DO NOT see a text box for me to enter any message. There is a note that says 'Login to write messages' (which I did - even though I was already logged in, I logged out then in again), there is no means for me to participate in a chat !

Oskaar
11-28-2006, 06:19 AM
Check your browser settings. What version of what browser are you running? Let me know.

Cheers,

Oskaar

WRATHWILDE
11-28-2006, 08:55 AM
GL63,

Above the forum links and under the GM logo you'll find site links, it'll look something like this

CHAT/CLASSIFIED ADS/FAQ/REVIEWS/FIND MEAD & SUPPLIES/LINKS/RECIPES/GEAR

HOME/HELP/SEARCH/PROFILE/MEMBERS/CALENDAR/ONLINE/LOGOUT

Hope that helps, I don't have any text box at the shout out either, but if I click on chat at the top I can participate. but this site isn't Safari Mac friendly so I am getting used to not being able to access all of the site features.

Wrathwilde

Angus
11-28-2006, 09:09 AM
Great chat feature guys. Easy to use and friendly. Just this alone is worth the subscription fee.

Thanks Vicky and Oskaar.

Angus

Greenblood
11-28-2006, 01:29 PM
Vicky - As of 5:09 AM 11/28/2006, I see dialogue there from Oskaar and JamesP, but I DO NOT see a text box for me to enter any message. There is a note that says 'Login to write messages' (which I did - even though I was already logged in, I logged out then in again), there is no means for me to participate in a chat !


Same problem here.

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5

Cheers!

John

GrantLee63
11-28-2006, 07:20 PM
Got it ! Wrathwilde's tip worked for me !!

By the way Oskaar: Widows XP IE7

Leonora
11-30-2006, 03:31 AM
???

I can't seem to get to the chat.

I have cleared my cookies and re-logged in. When I click on Chat at the top of the screen, I get thanked for Registering and asked to become a Patron.

But I already am one.

I'd love to be able to chat! Any suggestions?

I run IE, Win Home XP and am a dork so make any suggestions very clear (thanks!)

Leonora

webmaster
12-01-2006, 08:04 AM
I've had a few emails from folks that are having trouble viewing the patron features. Please make sure that you are logged in via the login box on the left. If you're having trouble, please scroll down, and make sure the login box shows you as logged in. If it doesn't, then log in there again.

Don't use the login and logout menu in the forum (green menu just above the forum, under the top menu, like the one Wrath posted. Use the login box in the left column, always.

Also, this shoutbox doesn't *have* a box that shows all the time. You need to look at the bottom of the shoutout, and you'll see a small green item that says 'Add shout'. That will create your box to type into.

I'll research this, for some reason folks are only showing as logged into the *forum*, but not the site.....

Wrath, sorry you're having issues, dude. But 99.9% of my visitors are using IE or a Mozilla-based browser, and I haven't a *clue* how to write the site so it will work both for them and the Mac Safari users....and I don't have any Macs to test on.

Vicky

WRATHWILDE
12-01-2006, 11:56 AM
Wrath, sorry you're having issues, dude. But 99.9% of my visitors are using IE or a Mozilla-based browser, and I haven't a *clue* how to write the site so it will work both for them and the Mac Safari users....and I don't have any Macs to test on.


Don't sweat it Vicky, its the the price I pay for being a mac user, but I'm cool with it.

Wrathwilde

webmaster
12-01-2006, 02:26 PM
Yeah, I sure wish there was some way to write to *both* platforms, but if there is, *I* haven't discovered it yet.....maybe I should have 2 versions of the site, LOL.

Anyone want to donate a Mac? ::grin::

DarkStar
12-01-2006, 08:45 PM
Wonder if anyone has tried out Opera for a browser on a mac, differnet code base and it can lie about itself to trick sites into thinking its mozzila or IE may fix some compatibilty problems with safari. Ive used it on windows xp and 98 and its been a good browser.

WRATHWILDE
12-02-2006, 01:35 AM
I've had problems accessing various items on GotMead using the latest versions of Safari, IE and Firefox. I think it comes down to Java Script incompatibilities. As I recall MS tweaked Java so that their version is MS specific and not a true cross platform version of Java. I think that the software for the site is probably MS centric... so that the Java code it generates isn't cross platform but adheres to Microsoft's bastardization of Sun's programing language. This would explain why none of my Browsers work correctly... as the Java code is an updateable part of OS X - and in case you're wondering the Version I'm running is supposedly 100% compatible with Sun's latest Version of Java.

Wrathwilde