PDA

View Full Version : Mead Bread?

pax
02-25-2007, 08:47 PM
Hello everyone,

Total newbie here. A buddy of mine has been using our kitchen to make mead for the past couple of years, with my clumsy and ill-informed assistance. Fascinating (and yummy) stuff.

My question is probably a long shot in this crowd, but I couldn't think who else to ask. Bear with me, please!

I do a lot of sourdough breadbaking, and have been particularly intrigued by the parallel lives of bread- and brew-yeasts. So as a kind of historical exploration (and maybe just because it sounds do-able), I'd like to use some of the mead dregs to flavor and rise a loaf of bread.

Now obviously, it would be no big deal to simply use mead to create a new sourdough starter, but I was hoping for a "mead-ier" final loaf, one that would be a true Mead Bread and not simply a sourdough bread that once had mead in its ancestry.

Has anyone here experimented with using an actively fermenting mead in breadmaking? Got a recipe or just some tips to share?

Thanks,

pax

Chimerix
02-25-2007, 11:05 PM
Aloha and welcome, pax!

I've yet to try this with mead dregs, but we did try it with beer dregs from the earliest days of my homebrewing experiences. Our experiment could be best described by the term "kinda funky."

Not to worry! We blamed that more on the choice of bread recipe than on the yeast, which performed admirably in its role. We were just surprised how much yeast character and how little bread character that slurry imparted to the funky finished product.

If ever there was a place to find the perfect mead-dregs recipe, it is here. And, whether you find it or bravely try to develop it on your own, please keep us posted!

pax
02-26-2007, 07:03 PM
Chimerix ~

Thanks for the welcome & the friendly reply.

Beginning to look as if I'm going to have to just start experimenting. Bummer -- I was hoping to find at least a jumping off place!

pax

Chimerix
02-26-2007, 07:18 PM