PDA

View Full Version : Third Recipe, strawberry melomel

broomdalf
04-19-2007, 07:53 PM
I am a newbie of mead that has been dabbling in the art for the last two months or so, and am going to try a bit harder on this batch, albeit my budget is still rather weak.

Here's my idea:

(1 gal batch)

3 lb Kroger supermarket honey (nothing great...)
2 lb frozen strawberries in primary
1 stick cinnamon
1 cup oolong tea
A small handful of manhandled raisins
Lalvin 71B-1122 yeast

I'm planning on heating the honey with some water to pasteurize it around 145F, adding it to the strawberries (crushed), raisins, and cinnamon, filling to near the top of the carboy with water, and adding the tea. Afterwards, I would be obliged to pitch the yeast and whatnot.

When bubbling slows enough, I hope to rack it onto 2 more lbs frozen strawberries for secondary fermentation. Would this be overkill?

My previous batches, which I made plenty of mistakes on, are a clearing show mead (D47) ~2.5 lbs honey and some raisins, and my second a melomel of ~2.5 lbs honey, 1 lb blackberry/strawberry/blueberry mixture each in primary and secondary (Also D47), which pushed quite a bit of crushed fruit bits into my airlock the first night.

Any suggestions, comments, especially on how I may avoid my airlock being similarly clogged?

akueck
04-20-2007, 01:43 AM
Welcome to the forums!

I'm working on a strawberry mead thing of my own. 4lbs of berries does not sound like overkill to me; I added 6lbs to the primary and will add at least another lb to the secondary (1 gallon batch) for mine. So far the strawberry flavor is doing ok. Strawberry is not a super intense flavor, so adding berries to both the primary and secondary will help you achieve the flavor you want.