PDA

View Full Version : no action yet

JJMEAD
06-25-2007, 03:14 PM
Ok I am getting worried. It has been about 20 hours since I have pitched my yeast and not a single bubble. This is my first attempt at brewing anything. I didn't have a thermometer so I let the yeast sit in hot tap water for ten minutes prior to pitching. The mead was about room temperature. I know I am an idiot and should have waited an extra day to just buy a thermometer but I let my add get the best of me. If I killed my yeast before they even had a chance is it possible to pitch more yeast after a day or two later? Also when exactly should I put in yeast nutrient? During the boil or with the yeast? Please help I am panicing and starting to think I have to start all over.

wayneb
06-25-2007, 05:26 PM
Don't Panic! ;)

Remember to carry your towel.

Now, on to meadmaking! Yes, without knowing the temperature of the rehydration water you may indeed have killed your yeast when you added it to the water. No worries; you can rehydrate and pitch some more - get and use a good thermometer. That, along with a hydrometer, are essential tools for proper meadmaking. HOWEVER, please also tell us all that you did, step by step, with note of the ingredients and quantities of anything that you used, so we can have a more complete picture of what may have happened.

BTW - although some folks boil honey for mead, it really isn't necessary. And I make it a point to never, ever, boil yeast nutrients. They are formulated to be dissolved in must temperature water and to be added directly to the must, either just before or shortly after yeast pitching.

You may want to have a complete look at all the posts in the NewBees section here; you'll pick up a lot of other pointers.

JJMEAD
06-25-2007, 06:33 PM
ok here was the recipe.
15lbs light honey
1 tbsp gypsum
4 tsp acid blend
1/4 oz yeast nutrient
1/4 tspirish moss powder
1 oz dried champagne yeast