PDA

View Full Version : Need help on the law

Dahole
07-20-2007, 10:46 PM
Can anyone help me.

I know that we are never able to sell our mead and I am OK with that.

Can I give a bottle away in a basket that will be put into a silent auction for charity?

Oskaar
07-21-2007, 12:00 AM
Yes, as long as you are not actively enticing or otherwise selling the wine for profit, and it is not advertised or singled out as the "primary item of value" in the gift basket.

Approach it from the perspective of ..."Buy this gift basket, and I'll gift you a bottle of this mead as a gift and nothing more"

Hope that helps,

Oskaar

wildaho
07-21-2007, 12:07 AM
I'm not a lawyer so take my advice with a grain of salt (you'll get what you pay for here!) So long as you don't put a value to the mead, you should be fine. You can put a value to the other items in the basket (including the basket) but not the mead. And I'm sure that there has to be some method of verifying that the final recipient/purchaser is of legal age. Of course, laws vary from state to state, county to county and especially country to country so your best bet is to contact your local Alcohol Beverage Control or a lawyer to verify.

Dahole
07-21-2007, 07:09 AM
Thanks Oskaar and Wildaho,

I would say that helps me a lot. It is a $75 gift basket of my honey and bee's wax candles so I would say a bottle of mead is not going to be the primary focus of the basket.

ken_schramm
07-21-2007, 11:19 AM