PDA

View Full Version : Hello :)

AsharaLyn
07-21-2007, 11:53 PM
I'm new to the whole mead making thing. I found this forum thanks to Brian Kettering, who I ran into at B3 in Riverside when I went back for yeast. They left it out of the kit I bought last week... hard to make mead with no yeast! He suggested I check out this website, and boy am I glad to find it!

My first mead-must is cooling in the primary fermenter now, waiting to pitch the yeast tomorrow. It's a plain sweet mead recipe, or at least that's what the ingredient kit said. 12 pounds of honey, 5 gallons of water.

Crossed fingers.

sandman
07-22-2007, 12:40 AM
Hey Ashara, Welcome to GotMead!!!

We're glad to have you here. I've learned more from this site than from any other single source since I first got interested in this hobby (a whopping 5 months ago in February). :D

Enjoy your new hobby and make sure to let us know how your first mead turns out. What kind of honey and yeast did you end up using for your sweet mead??

Anyway, welcome to the addiction. Now, repeat after me... "Hi Everyone, I'm ::insert name:: and I'm a mead maker."
:cheers:
Sandman

AsharaLyn
07-22-2007, 02:24 AM
It was the "Sweet Mead Kit" from B3. Their California blend honey, and the yeast I have is Red Star Cote des Blancs.

So far I have read enough distilled wisdom on this site to make me wish I'd waited until tomorrow to start :). I'm not sure the yeast is what I want. I may have to start another batch as soon as this is out of the primary fermenter. I was hoping to have something ready to drink for Las Vegas Faire in early October, but that seems that it may be out of the question.

Wolfie
07-22-2007, 05:33 AM
Dont Panic! :alien:

Even if the yeast isn't what you're looking for, perhaps you'll find something you didn't know you liked ;)

Welcome to the forum

~Wolfie

sandman
07-22-2007, 11:20 AM