• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

moldy mead

Barrel Char Wood Products

ILikeSound

NewBee
Registered Member
Aug 25, 2007
I am new to mead and I am only about 6 weeks into my first batch. A white frothy substance started to form on the surface of my mead and I was told by someone that works at my local brew store that it is mold and that I should rerack the mead asap leaving the mold behind. As soon as I bagan siphoning the mead out some of the mold started sinking. Not knowing what else to do I put some crushed campden tablets in the second carboy with the mead. Should this prevent future mold from growing?

wayneb

Lifetime Patron
Lifetime GotMead Patron
Well... a couple of things need to be said here. First, I don't think that anyone, even at the LHBS, can tell if the white frothy stuff is indeed mold just from your description. Meads often have a kind of white foamy stuff that forms on top as the fermentation finishes, and after a few weeks, that disappears. It isn't mold, and it isn't a problem.