PDA

View Full Version : Creating Mead without sterilizing Must

Gruffud
08-29-2007, 04:59 PM
Hello All,

My name is Steve,(I go by Gruffud) and, I am brand new to meadmaking, but am no stranger to home brewing. This seems like a natural step for me, as I am also a hobbyist beekeeper.

I picked up a copy of Schramms book, and I have a question on the preparation of Must. I understand not wanting to heat honey, for fear of losing that elusive "something", but can you actually get away with not sterilizing the must at all? (as Schramm says he does, or does not, as the case may be). As someone that minimally processes their honey, ( I strain through successively smaller screens, with the honey at room temperature) I know there are still "pieces parts" in my honey, however fine they may be. Will this junk come out during primary fermentation, or do you need a period of heating to bring those bits to the surface for skimming? Or does this "stuff" contribute in a positive way to the final character of the mead?

Curious in Ohio,

Gruffud

Oskaar
08-29-2007, 05:44 PM
Welcome to Got Mead?

You'll find answers to all of your questions here, and with a little search "Kung-fu" and some patience you'll find them all.

Short answer to your question about sterilizing your must is YES, you don't need to sterilize your must. As with wine, you may sulfite if you so choose. There are volumes written about sulfiting grape must, and honey must may also be sulfited in the same way. This risk is pretty much the same with honey must as with wine must when over sulfiting. Boiling, heating, pasteurizing are not what I would recommend because you cook your enzymes, protiens and subtle varietal and floral aromas off in my opinion.