PDA

View Full Version : Witch one should I use?

samson11
09-12-2007, 05:45 AM
Hi There

I am not new to brewing; I have been making beer and wine for 27 years now and just found this form yesterday. I have made one batch of mead two years ago and I loved it! (It was an apple cyser with Christmas spice) I have been thinking about making more and have been getting honey. I have 1 gallon of clover.

1 gallon of honey from a friend that has bees and gave it to me because she said she could not sell it because it was from the top of the hive and had to much water content in it. Here is the thing. I am mot sure what to do with this gallon of honey? Would it best to use it in traditional mead or with grapes as a pyment or what? The hive is in the city so the flowers are what ever there is in bloom around here, fruit trees, garden flowers and what ever.

I have been looking at a lot of books and think that I would like to do ginger mead and mint tea mead. Witch honey would be best for the ginger mead and witch would be beat for the mint tea? I like to end up with a mead that is on the sweet side. I am not in to dry meads.

So, will these two kinds be any good as sweeter mead? What ever sort of advise you prowess can give me would be great!! After all you have been doing honey thing more then me.

Thanks

Oskaar
09-12-2007, 07:50 AM
Welcome to Got Mead?