PDA

View Full Version : Must-Read Books

shunoshi
10-08-2007, 06:45 PM
When I started brewing beer I was introduced to a site www.howtobrew.com and a book by Charlie Papazian called The Complete Joy of Homebrewing. These texts are considered must-reads in the world of craft beer brewing and they really helped with my fundamentals. My question is, what book(s) is/are the equivalent in the world of mead? I'd really like to have a comprehensive text that answers some of the common questions so I don't have to ask them all here. :D

wayneb
10-08-2007, 06:54 PM
Well, in answer to your question (which has already been answered here before :laughing7: ) the best, and probably only "must read," is Ken Schramm's 'The Compleat Meadmaker.' You really don't need any other meadmaking book, although the one that Oskaar and Vicky are working up will be even more focused on the meadmaking process (Ken covers a lot of ground in history and other related subjects) and it will be aimed at beginners. Until that one hits the shelves, go for Ken's!

Actually, much of what Schramm would teach you is already contained in the Gotmead archives in one place or another! Play around with the search tools, both the one on the forum and the more general one on the Gotmead main page, and you'll get answers to probably 90% of your questions without having to post them. This archive goes back more than a few years (more than a decade when you consider the AMA archives), and there's lots of stuff here that isn't contained in any published hardcopy book.

ehanuise
10-08-2007, 06:58 PM
I read a couple :
- Ken Schramm's The compleat meadmaker
- Roger Morse's Making mead
- Harry Riches Mead Making, Exhibiting and Judging
- Pam Spence's Mad about mead

If you look in the posts on the forum, You'll find that Ken Schram's book is not only one of the most up to date meadmaking books available, but also regarded as one of the most extensive in its coverage.