PDA

View Full Version : New to brewing. some questions

kingt2
10-11-2007, 05:15 PM
Hello all, i am new to the community, so excuse me if i am incorrect about anything i'm still learning.

I have a couple one gallon carboys and some co2 release valves, as i figured i would start by brewing small amounts first, then after i get the hang of it, move on to "bigger and better" things.
i have a couple questions though...

I notice that many people boil their honey-water mixture, and some do not -at least they do not indicate so in their descriptions- is this a good method of disolving one's honey? assuming one allowed it to cool to a sufficiently low temp before adding the yeast, of course.

also, after fermentation is complete [i've decided to start with a quick 2-3 week pyment] if racked out of the carboy into a container without the yeast, but still sealed off from air/contamination, will it survive, or is it necessary to refrigerate after the final racking?

and lastly, Does anyone have any personal recommendations/recipes for quick 1 gallon [i only have 1 gallon carboys so it needs to fit into one or two of them] brews? they would be much appreciated.

Any and all help is much appreciated,
Thank you,
Travis

akueck
10-11-2007, 10:31 PM
You can boil, you can not boil, it's up to you. You'll get more prods in the no-boil direction here, since it's generally acknowledged that the boiling doesn't actually add anything, but it does do away with a lot of aromatic compounds in the honey. If you're worried about getting the honey to mix in, just heat your water to 90-100 F and that should be warm enough to aid dissolving but cool enough to preserve the goodness of the honey. Or do it all at room temperature and give your arms a workout! (or use a drill...)

As long as you properly sanitize your new container, your mead should be fine there.