PDA

View Full Version : How do you handle (clean) large carboys?

bjswift
11-02-2007, 03:15 PM
Okay, I have been thinking of bumping it up a notch, and buy equipment for 5 gallon batches. I was thinking of going the cheap route, and get a 6.5gallon bucket/lid, let a batch ferment, then when I need to rack it, buy a $20 5 gallon carboy. However, I was thinking... How in the heck am I supposted to wash the five gallon carboy? If my 1 gallon jugs 'just' fit in the sink, do I use my bath tub?

(maybe I should consult with my LHBS but I thought I would approach real experts, the mead makers.) :)

vanoob
11-02-2007, 03:18 PM
I'm no expert, but my "hand sprayer" stretches far enough to stick past the counter. So I can set the carboy on a stool or such and use the hose.

wayneb
11-02-2007, 03:58 PM
And I just use the bathtub. ;D

wildaho
11-02-2007, 07:15 PM
Be sure to get a carboy brush too for those hard remove remains! I use the tub too, it works great.

Pewter_of_Deodar
11-02-2007, 10:12 PM
I set my carboys on their sides on the counter next to the sink and use the sprayer to rinse them, dumping the gunk into the sink. When all of the easily removed gunk is out, I set them upright and fill them with water and allow them to set overnight (or more) to loosen everything up. I end up draining them with my racking cane then use the sprayer and a carboy brush to clean the stuff off that wouldn't come out the night before. I then rinse them several times with hot water, then once with One Step, allow them to set for a few minutes to allow the cleanser to work, then rinse them several times with water and set them in the carboy drainer to dry.

In prep for using them again, I rinse several times with hot water using the spray attachment, then hit them with the One Step again, allowing it a few minutes to work, then rinse a few times with full hot water...