PDA

View Full Version : slow fermentation?

ifit
11-10-2007, 08:37 AM
Hi! i'm new to mead brewing and I have some questions.

I followed the main recipe on the site and did following:

I mixed 1 litre of honey and about 3 litres of water. After that I inserted 6 grams of wine yeast and started with open fermetation for first three days. after that I put on an airlock and left the must to fermentate.
After about a week, I added 3 grams of yeast because my fermentation was very slow (about 2 bubbles in a minute) It went well for few hours, but now it is very slow again.
What am doing wrong? can I fix it, or must I start all over again?

Thanks in advance, and sorry for my bad grammar and european metric units. :)

Cheers! :cheers:

wayneb
11-10-2007, 12:13 PM
Welcome to GotMead!!!

You will find everything to answer all your questions, already covered in several message threads in the Newbees section. Look here: http://www.gotmead.com/component/option,com_smf/Itemid,412/topic,3495.0
Wrathwilde, one of the most prolific contributors here at GotMead has written up an excellent summary of the modern meadmaking process, including most of the things we'd suggest for a problem free fermentation.

Oskaar, the single biggest contributor, moderator, and patron saint of GotMead will ask you to post a detailed description of your exact recipe and process -- take a look at other recipes here to get the idea. We need not just the honey/water ratio; we also need to know the strain of yeast that you used, your process for preparing the yeast and pitching, what if anything you have done to prepare the must, any nutrients that have been added (and when), any measurements of SG, temperature, pH, etc. We can then diagnose the issue more comprehensively.