PDA

View Full Version : Issues reaching the GM main site!



Wolfie
02-12-2008, 06:30 PM
Hey Web Keepers of GM

I tried to look into the forums from the school computer lab today, what I got was a blank page with the GM logo on it, but no website. I clicked on the logo, but it only redirected to me selfsame page.

I eventually got into the forum by finding an old GM email with a link to an actual post, after which I've ha dno problem logging in, posting etc.

Oaky, I'm not all that computer-y, dont know if I'm looking at a programming bug in the site or something on my end (maybe the school put a filter on forums? I've never had an issue before and I'm not having one now...) but incase it's not just me and folks are having toruble reaching GM online I wanted to post this heads up (Did I do it in the right place??--delete/move needed)

Thanks for everything!

~Z

Arjan
02-12-2008, 07:28 PM
got the same. luckily i got two bookmarks to this site :)

Dan McFeeley
02-12-2008, 08:31 PM
I was having problems getting to the forums not so long ago, but the problem resolved when I started going first to the main site, www.gotmead.com, and then clicking on the forum tab.

Had to log off, then log back in on the main gotmead site, but that cured the problem for me.

wildaho
02-12-2008, 09:37 PM
You mean there is more to this site than the forums? :o I'll have to check that out some time! :laughing7:

wayneb
02-12-2008, 11:27 PM
Watch out, Wade! Vicky'll slap you silly if you keep saying things like that!! :laughing4:

sandman
02-12-2008, 11:38 PM
No doubt... my cheeks are still burning from the last time I siad something along those lines. :sad2:

Oskaar
02-13-2008, 02:01 AM
LOL

Just remember that we both are painfully aware of outages before everyone else (most of the time that is) so just be patient while these things occur. We're in our pre-swing phase so these temp outage issues will be a thing of the past once we've made the move. We had to wait until the International Mead Competition was over because Vicky and I are so immersed in the process (along with many other people) that we couldn't realistically move Got Mead prior to the competition.

Cheers,

Oskaar

webmaster
02-13-2008, 02:05 AM
:angryfire:

::smack:: on you Wildaho, LOL. Sandman learned his lesson.........

BTW, check out the main site, there are some new articles......

Yeah, there *is* a site. We're having hosting issues. The one we moved to last summer has gone and bought up a smaller host, and since then, the problems have started (all the while denying there *are* problems). So, we move again, this time to a host that has a really great track record for Joomla/forum sites like ours.

I've already purchased the account, and am in the process of configuring it. I got sidetracked with planning for the home and commercial mead competitions out in Boulder (just got back yesterday) and haven't had the time to devote to the move along with that and some customer work on my schedule.

We'll also be moving to a new forum package with lots of great new features, and giving the site (you know that part outside the forum) a new look at the same time. Yeah, I like to bite off more than I can chew, its a hobby of mine.

This will happen sometime in the next 2-4 weeks, and I'll post up when we're ready to move so patrons can download their email. There will probably be a 24 hour outage window planned.

Bear with us guys, we're working on it!!!

butterlily5
02-14-2008, 01:37 AM
Hi!
I just wanted to add that, although I'm sure you probably know it, every time I've gone for the main website today, I've gotten a notice about a blocked worm. :sad1: Thought I should mention it. Thanks!

Angus
02-14-2008, 08:44 AM
I was going to note that I am also getting a VirusScan warning for a Exploit-ANIfile (Trojan) named us10161[1].anr.

Angus

webmaster
02-14-2008, 03:25 PM
Angus, I crosschecked files and found a couple that were extra. Innocuous names, but I removed them, and crosschecked regular file sizes.

Could you look again, and see if it gives you the same thing?

Vicky

Angus
02-14-2008, 03:52 PM
Still showed up. I am going to have my pc cleaned and will log in again to see if the worm on my machine is reacting to your address. I will let you know what happens.

Angus

webmaster
02-14-2008, 04:56 PM
I can't find any files that could be causing it, and no files have been changed according to my logs.

Very weird.....you wouldn't by chance be using Norton? I had someone else who is using it get the same error. But my system (using Zone Alarm Pro) doesn't see a problem.....

Oskaar
02-14-2008, 09:59 PM
I hit the site with about 5 different boxes from different locations and different monitoring software (Zone Alarm, Trend Micro, Kaspersky, Bit Defender, PC Cillin, Network Associates, etc) no worm notifications.

Angus,

Take a look at your running processes and google any *.exe files that don't look like something you would normally see in them and see if you come up with a dropper or backdoor somewhere in the mix. You can do a screenshot and send it to me and I should be able to pick out anything weird.

Cheers,

Oskaar

webmaster
02-14-2008, 11:14 PM
*Whew*, that is a relief. I didn't think there was a worm, but it had me a bit worried.......

Angus
02-15-2008, 09:19 AM
No worries. I cleaned out the Temp Internet Files, reran the virus cleanup, and the worm is gone. It was definetely on my machine.

Sorry about that.

Angus

webmaster
02-15-2008, 11:43 AM
Yeah, you might have gotten it from the site. Oskaar tells me he sees it now.

I'm working on it, and hope to have it fixed soon.