PDA

View Full Version : Hi. I'm new.

Thirsty in NY
02-26-2008, 04:18 PM
I've made lots of beer, but I'm new to Mead. So far I've made three 1 gal batches of JAO. The oldest one is three weeks old. It smells great and like many newbies I couldn't wait and I tried some last weekend. Wow. It's already good and has a bit of a kick.

I've been reading a lot here and although I've already been through The Compleat Meadmaker, I'm still trying to sort out the difference between DAP, Fermaid-K, 71-B, D-47, Acid Blend, etc., etc..

Just a tiny bit more confusing than beer.

I also started a 5 gal batch from a NB kit using liquid yeast which I am now worried about since most people here seem to prefer dry. Their beer kits are great, so I'm hoping for good things.

:drunken_smilie:

beachfrontmeadman
02-26-2008, 05:35 PM
hey welcome to gotmead.com
feel free to ask any questions you want, though you may want to run a search, and see if your question hasn't already been answered
don't worry about liquid yeast, it works fine, my first show mead was made with white labs sweet mead yeast, and it came out amazing

Medsen Fey
02-26-2008, 09:30 PM
Welcome to GotMead Thirsty!

If you use the forum search tool, you can find posts on all sorts of topics. It may be helpful to take a look at the Mead NewBee Guide (http://www.gotmead.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=blogcategory&id=108&Itemid=14) if you haven't seen it yet. As you formulate questions, I think you'll find many helpful people around here.