• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

mead when you screw up

Barrel Char Wood Products

UDV

NewBee
Registered Member
Mar 20, 2008
NYC
So.
Hi.

So I am a newbie.

It was one late night. I was drunk, I had friends over. I got a wine making kit for christmas. I decided to make mead. I sort of followed this

http://davespicks.com/writing/mme/cgmrecipe.html

which is the recipe for mead made good, although when I tried to make it, I couldn't find hops as they are apparently difficult to find. I know things got a little hazy about the required honey part. I'm afraid I cleaned out every single honey bottle I had at home, and I am way *way* past the 10 pounds of honey required for this.

It's now been more than 45 days since I put it in a glass carboy and it's *very* slow fermenting. I did a second load of some Red Star Pasteur Champagne about 2 weeks later and it's still slowly bubbling.

Is there even a way to fix this? I checked everything I did and the carboy was sterilized with c-brite, as the was the airlock, and all the stuff in the interim.