PDA

View Full Version : Mead Noob ISO answers

Brew2Drink
05-13-2008, 03:46 PM
Greetings folks. I'm new to mead making, but have been brewing beer on and off for about 15 years. I recently made my first batch of mead. Recipe is as follows:
5 Gallon batch
15# clover honey
1 tsp gypsum
4 tsp acid blend
1/4 tsp irish moss
4 tsp DAP

I boiled the honey moss and gypsum for 25 min with 1.5 gal of water and spooned off the foam during the boil. OG 1.075 (does that seem right?)
I cooled down and added 3.5 gal. of water. I then rehydrated 1/2 oz red star champagne yeast and pitched with 2 tsp of yeast energizer at 68 degrees.
I racked to my secondary 25 days later and forgot to take a s.g. reading, Q:is it normal that the mead would still be fermenting at this time?

Today I pulled out the secondary to have a gander at it, it sat in the secondary for ~6.5 months. The mead still looks hazy, but its hard to tell how much as it got shaken up during moving it from the closest to the kitchen counter.

Q: I have what appears to mold growing on the carboy above the level of the mead :-[ basically white to golden fuzzy patches about half the size of a dime. i have 9 colonies growing, all above the liquid level. Is my mead now useless?

Q: If i can salvage the mead, how long should I let the carboy sit and settle before I rack into my bottling bucket?
I'm planning to bottle in 12 oz beer bottles, perhaps I should let the mead sit another month? Problem is i'm moving at the end of June so I need to have it bottled then.

Q: DAP should be, have been added when I pitched the yeast?
Also when is the appropriate time to add the acid blend, and how much?

Q: Is clover the "standard" type of honey for making mead? Where I'm at is a lot of knapweed honey and the local winery told me that would make a more bitter mead.

Any help is greatly appreciated, I wish I would have looked at this resource before I started this back in Oct.

wayneb
05-13-2008, 04:56 PM