PDA

View Full Version : Please help me troubleshoot.

Tea
07-19-2008, 06:27 PM
Hello everyone. I admit up front that I am new to mead making. I decided a couple of years ago that I wanted to make a mead for our 25th wedding anniversary. I have to admit that that date has come and gone and still no mead.
Here is the recipe that I used. The local brewery shop here was of no help, and I didn't realise that the time that yeast could make such a difference to the final product. All I know is that it was a sweet wine yeast and the name wyeast, I think, sounds familiar.

3.5kg Outback honey (quality brand store bought)
3kg beechworth honey (quality brand store bought)
75ml vanilla extract
3 cinnamon sticks
4tsp acid blend
5tsp yeast nutrient
rain water to 22ltr
sweet wine yeast (all that I could find available here)
1/3 tsp sodium metabisulfite (because it said so).

initial SP 1.150 was actually a little higher, but that was the last measurement on my hydrometer

I have racked this three times in the last 2 years, because it was put in a corner and forgotten about. Racked this week and the SP was -0.98.

This time I could at least drink it, although it is not very sweet, and almost no spices came through, and feels very watery. I have, since making this found a supplier of raw honey, so 4 days ago I added another 4 cups of this honey along with a strond tea of cinnamon, vanilla beans, nutmeg, cloves and 2 tea bags. I added the tea and left the bag of spices hanging. Tasted yesterday and the spices are coming through quite strong, and the mead was marginally sweeter. I took the spice bag out after 48 hours, as I don't want these flavours to be too over powering. Can always add them back in later if I need to.