PDA

View Full Version : first cyser - yeast question

EBCornell
09-20-2008, 08:41 AM
Hi all-
This is my first attempt at brewing (I refuse to count the Mr. Beer fiasco) and my first post here on the forum. I was inspired to try a cyser so I did my homework (read the GotMead NewBee guide, Papazian & Schramm) and ordered up the gear for my first 1 gallon batch.
The simple cyser recipe I'm planning on using is:
1 gallon Organic Apple Juice
2 lbs Clover Honey
Wyeast's Prise De Mousse 4021

My question is this: the yeast package is for a 5 gallon batch. Do I simply need to pour the contents into a sanitized measuring cup, divide by 5 and add the correct volume? It seems like the answer should be a simple "yes" and a smack on the back of my head, but I want to play it safe.
Thanks in advance!

Yo momma
09-20-2008, 08:58 AM
A Cyser as your first, I'm exited for you. It's ok, in my opinion, for you to use all the yeast in your gallon batch. All it will do is give your mead a strong population of yeast off the get go. Just make sure to shake the heck out of your batch for about a minute or so before you pitch your yeast and leave about 2 inches of head space for your mead to expand. After your mead starts to finish out, add more apple juice to fill up your carboy.

Welcome to gotmead?

EBCornell
09-20-2008, 09:33 AM
Thanks very much for the quick reply! Maybe I'll go ahead and take the plunge tomorrow!
I'm sure I'll be back with more questions soon...
:cheers:

sandman
09-20-2008, 01:20 PM
I do it all the time. 1 gallon gets 1 yeast packet. 5 gallons gets 1 yeast packet (unless it's a special case that needs an extra boost to it's initial yeast population).

Wolfie
09-20-2008, 01:46 PM
WELCOME TO GOTMEAD!

Dont forget to rehydrate yr yeasts!
Good Luck!

/wolfie

EBCornell
09-20-2008, 02:42 PM
Thanks for the welcomes...I'll use the whole packet, which I believe I just need to smash to mix the nutrient and yeast -- I don't believe any rehydration is needed.