PDA

View Full Version : alternative yeasts for Ken Schramm's Fall's Bounty Cyser

crowquill
10-16-2008, 06:39 PM
This weekend, I am hoping to start a batch of "Fall's Bounty Cyser." My plan is to follow the recipe as printed in the book. To that end, my wife stopped by the LHB store to pick up a couple of packets of Lalvin D-47. Image her surprise when the owner said, "We don't carry that anymore. We only have Red Star now." We have bought Lalvin yeasts there in the past but I guess we didn't buy enough of them....

The store owner suggested either Pasteur Champagne or Premier Cuvee as alternatives. I'm still a beginner but neither of those sound like substitutes for D-47 to me.

There is another local store and we'll check there tomorrow. I know online ordering is also an option but if I order online we'll have to wait at least two weeks to start the cyser. This is a special weekend for us and we were hoping to commemorate it by starting this cyser.

We may yet be able to get the D-47 from the other store. And if not, we may decide to hold off on the cyser until we can get the yeast called for in the recipe. But hypothetically:

If I can't get the D-47 and if I insist on starting the cyser this weekend, what's the best Red Star substitute?

I don't think it's appropriate to transcribe Ken's entire recipe here but the ingredients are:

4 gallons pressed apple juice
8 lb. honey (we have local wildflower)
2 tsp. yeast energizer
1 tsp. yeast nutrient
1 lb. dark brown sugar
1/2 lb. chopped dates
1/2 lb. raisins
10 g. Lalvin D-47 rehydrated

wayneb
10-16-2008, 08:14 PM