PDA

View Full Version : EEEEEW that smell

Vino
10-30-2008, 11:06 AM
I have been brewing beer for several years, and have just started experimenting with meads. I brewed (2) 1 gallon batched of Cyser 3 days ago. I checked on it last night (2 days) and when I didn't see bubbling in the airlock, curiosity forced me to open the lid and take a peak ??? I was surprised by a smell that reminded me of cider vinegar.

My question is...Is this normal?

BTW, there was some bubbling action going on.

Thanks in advance for any help with this.

Vino

wayneb
10-30-2008, 11:16 AM
That volatile acidity (acetic acid) aroma that you're detecting can depend on a lot of factors, and in some cases a little VA early in the fermentation of a cider or cyser is normal, but we can't really tell without reading a bit more about your exact recipe and process. Can you give us some more background details on this batch?

Excessive VA aromas, or smells that don't dissipate as the fermentation progresses, are not generally a good thing.

Oh, WELCOME to the "GotMead?" community, By the Way!!

Vino
10-30-2008, 11:23 AM
Thanks for the quick reply.

Orange Blossom Cyser
1 Gallon Apple Juice (Publix)
2 lbs Orange Blossom Honey
8 oz Spring Water
Teaspoon Yeast Energizer
Teaspoon Pectin Enzyme
1/8 Teaspoon Acid Blend
Teaspoon Cote des Blancs

Added the apple juice to a 2 gallon fermenter bucket, warmed the honey and poured into the apple juice, added the yeast energizer, pectin enzyme, and acid blend. Aerated with a commercial immersion blender. Allowed to sit for 30 minutes then spinkled the yeast over the mixture and stirred in. covered and added the airlock.

I have a second batch that is identical except the honey is "Wildflower"...I did not open it to see if it smelled the same.

Vino

wayneb
10-30-2008, 03:40 PM
Your welcome!