PDA

View Full Version : Tea VS Spices

capoeirista13
11-17-2008, 05:22 PM
So I have seen that when using spices in meads, some people will just throw the spices into the fermenter, while others make a tea out of their spices and then they just add that.

My question is what is the benefit of making a tea (besides easier cleanup)?

Also, after you are done, what do you do with the spices, just throw them out? It seems like a bit of a waste to just heave them.

Also, how well does the tea taste carry over to the mead? For example, could you use a tea as a test to see how you mead will taste? How well do the spice blends in general carry over to meads?

I've never used any spices/herbs before but I plan to in a cyser that I want to make soon.

beekind
11-18-2008, 06:55 PM
i've made several meads by just throwing all the spices into the fermenter, and i've only made one that by doing the tea method.
pros for making the herbs into a tea first: easy clean-up, and no loss of mead when you bottle (or rack into a bulk ager).
negatives: may lose some of the essences of the herbs by not leaving them in contact as long. some herbs like juniper, cardamom, peppercorns, ginseng, etc. will impart more intense flavors if they are actually fermented with the must.
remember, you can put them in a bag first, so clean-up is easier.

JamesP
11-18-2008, 08:28 PM
This is not a simple question to answer, but a good question to ask 8)

Spices soaking in the must integrate better, are more complex in flavour, but you have to balance the amount, whether they are ground up or whole, and the amount of time you leave them in the must.
Also, different flavours are extracted from soaking in a must at room temperature while the fermentation is going on, or after fermentation when the alcohol content is ??%, as opposed to extracting flavours from heating/boiling or from making a cordial or ....