PDA

View Full Version : Winter brewing

Nightspear
11-17-2008, 08:12 PM
Hey all,
Im pretty new to home brewing. I have been interested in trying to brew some home made wine for years, but not being or knowing many wine drinkers I have been reluctant to try. Since going to a local Ren. faire and trying mead for the first time...OH BABY my friends and I were hooked. Well Seeing I dont have much going on in the winter time. I figured I could start a batch and have it ready in the spring or summer. This would be a great surprise to one of our role play sessions. So I turn to you home brewing professionals for advice.

My first concern is will the fermenting process produce enough heat that I can brew it in my garage (NOT heated or insulated) without it freezing.

If there wont be enough heat in the garage Would the fermentation process put a foul odor in the house?

Last but certainly not the least important What recipe would you recomend I use for my first batch. (Depending on whether I brew it in the hose or garage)

Odinsson
11-17-2008, 08:21 PM
IDK about leaving it in the garage to ferment, maybe later to let it age once the alcohol gets higher. Where are you that it would get that cold? As for odor, I've just let mine go in the corner of the dining room and never smelled it unless I was down there working on it. Everyone here swears by the JAO, which can be found with a forum search or it may be pinned to the top in the recipe section, but I've never tried it. If you had a flavored mead at the faire then you could always find a recipe that is similar or just go with a regular mead with just water, honey and any nutrients that would be necessary.

Nightspear
11-17-2008, 08:55 PM
Odensson,