PDA

View Full Version : Mead Yeast Cake

knowlesbrew
12-08-2008, 08:30 PM
I need some advice. I am going to make a full bodied mead with 20 lbs of Honey. I ordered white labs 720 for sweet mead. I am worried that with that much honey and with the yeast that is for sweet mead that it will come out too sweet in the end. I would rather have a semi-sweet final product. I have a 5 gallon secondary full of Dry at the moment, that used White Labs 715 for the yeast which is for Dry mead. I was wondering if I could just pitch the new batch on top of the yeast cake from the first batch like I would beer (Brewed loads of beer new to mead). I admit I have very little knowledge about making mead and wine so I am applying my beer brewing knowledge here.

Also would the yeast type really even matter with that much honey?

Thanks

wayneb
12-08-2008, 10:19 PM
It is generally not a good idea to pitch new must onto a mead yeast cake from an earlier batch, since the fermentation in a wine or mead must usually finishes at a much higher ethanol level than a beer or ale. The likelihood that the yeast will have been stressed by exposure to the alcohol is greater with the higher percentage, and that often leads to mutations in the yeast that will result in the subsequent fermentation having characteristics much different from the first -- and often not for the better. With mead, as with wine but not with beer, it is best to pitch a new yeast.