PDA

View Full Version : Just a confidence check.

stownson
02-10-2009, 09:56 PM
This is my first post here but I've been lurking for a while.

I've been brewing beer for a couple years now. I brewed a hefeweisen on Saturday and while motivated to brew decided to branch out.

I just started my first mead yesterday. She's bubbling away nicely so all seems well. I just thought I'd run down what I've done to this point and see if I got it right. In researching, I found lots of conflicting advice so I just tired to sort the BS from the sound info and gave it a go.

Here it is, a simple cyser:

1 gallon plus 1 qt. Raw desert wildflower honey. (15 pounds or so)
4 Gallons Zieglerís apple cider (100% juice, No preservatives, ingredients: Apples, pasteurized for safety)

Stirred well and pulled 500 ml must for a starter.

18:00 hrs on Sunday: Crushed 5 Camden tablets and stirred it in to the remaining must. At this time it's in a clean sanitized 5-gallon bucket covered with plastic wrap and a rubber band holding it in place.

(Seems really strange to me not boiling)

I hydrated my yeast by dissolving 4 teaspoons of "GoFerm" into 4 oz of 110-degree spring water. Stirred with the thermometer until the temp was 104 degrees. Sprinkled 2 packs of K1-V1116 on top and let it sit for 15 minutes. Then I stirred the yeast in and gave it another 10 minutes. When the temp of the yeast reached 85 degrees. I added about 2 oz of the must I'd set aside and stirred for 5 minutes then added some more to bring the temp to 73 degrees. I poured the lot into my flask of reserved must that was 70 degrees.

I put an airlock on this and it was bubbling away instantly. Awesome!

Monday Morning 06:00 hrs, I stirred the must in the 5 gallon bucket and added pectic enzyme.

18:30 hrs on Monday evening, I racked the must from the bucket to a 6.5-gallon carboy. Pitched the yeast and oxygenated it with O2 and a ss diffusing stone. Also added 4.5g Fermaid-k and 4.5g DAP