PDA

View Full Version : thinking about making a batch

jefferson83
02-23-2009, 02:03 AM
hello everyone, I am new to this process and have been reading about it for a good 4 hours now. I have a few questions about it that i know someone here has answers to.

just a note i searched for a lot of my answers and found them but these last few I either could not find answers to or the search function just gave back vague posts. Ex: 1 gallon batch, just sent back posts that had any three of these words in it and if I searched for , gallon, it sent back pretty much everypost on here. Help on this sites search would be appreciated from the seasoned posters, if someone can tell me keywords to use along with my search? thanks

I think ill just list them off so people can answer them by number.

1-final alcohol depends on how much honey is used, correct?

2-will a lower alcohol content yield a better quality mead or does this have no bearing?

3-where is the Mead Calculator everyone reffers to, I see its used all the time but cant find it?

4-I know people say that they add fruit to the secondary ferment in a bag but how do you get it in and out of the carboy without juicing the fruit all over the sides of the carboy? Big bag small hole any tips or am I mis-understanding this step?

5-Recipe reductions. is this like cooking? Just looking at some of the recipes I would like to try but maybe not 5 gallons would I make the reductions proportionate to the amount I'm making? Ex: 5 apples 5 gallons would go to 3apples for 3 gallons

thanks for any and all answers and I look forward to getting to know all of you in the future

Shanecb
02-23-2009, 03:20 AM
I think ill just list them off so people can answer them by number.

1-final alcohol depends on how much honey is used, correct?

2-will a lower alcohol content yield a better quality mead or does this have no bearing?

3-where is the Mead Calculator everyone reffers to, I see its used all the time but cant find it?