PDA

View Full Version : Smell During Fermentation?

F0E-Hammer
02-23-2009, 05:46 PM
Hi guys, I keep trying find the oportunity to start a batch of mead, but I have a couple problems.

1: I heard that during the fermentation the smell can be quite strong, is there truth in this?

2: To let the batch ferment, the only place I'd be able to keep within the right temperature is in my appartment with me, so if it will stink, then I just don't know.

That's it, hope to get feedback soon.
Happy Brewing!
-Corey

Disthetic
02-23-2009, 06:01 PM
Hi guys, I keep trying find the oportunity to start a batch of mead, but I have a couple problems.

1: I heard that during the fermentation the smell can be quite strong, is there truth in this?

2: To let the batch ferment, the only place I'd be able to keep within the right temperature is in my appartment with me, so if it will stink, then I just don't know.

That's it, hope to get feedback soon.
Happy Brewing!
-Corey

Im still a newb, but I havent experienced any bad smells coming from the airlocks.

When I opened the primary buckets up to aerate, you could definitely smell the fermentation going on, but even then, it wasnt what I'd consider to be overpowering.

Dan

akueck
02-23-2009, 06:53 PM
The first time I brewed, I thought the smell was odd. Now I really like that smell, and I can even appreciate* the rotting garbage smell (mmm, fermented kitchen waste!) and the smell of compost (earthy, grassy, stinky). While the latter might be disturbing, you'll quickly get used to the smells that your mead will give off. Most of them smell like yeast (similar to bread dough) or honey. Not so bad.

*note, I said "appreciate", not "like". ;)

Medsen Fey
02-23-2009, 07:19 PM
Some meads actually smell pretty good even while fermenting. Some of my orange meads have been like that.

Speedy
02-24-2009, 12:41 AM
Most of them smell like yeast (similar to bread dough) or honey.