PDA

View Full Version : Test Batches

AToE
06-12-2009, 07:26 PM
Hi, just getting started out (first attempt at brewing anything) so I thought I'd post my planned test batches here to see if anyone might have any last minute suggestions. I have read the NewBee guide (and will read it again!) and since this is my first try, I'm going to base my test batches on the exact recipe/batch size/process used in the guide, with variations in each batch so I can see what I like and what I don't, as well as have some fun with it.

I'm going to do 6 batches of 1 gallon each, fermenting in glass jugs. My yeast for all 6 will be Lalvin 71B-1122, and I'm not going to boil or pasturize any of the batches, as the honey I've bought for these first attempts is not raw and I don't want to kill off any more of the flavour. What I am planning to do is to boil my water (very normal tasting tapwater that has been run through a brita filter) for at least 10 minutes to sterilize it, then mix in the honey as it cools - then go through the same steps as in the guide for hydrating/pitching the yeast, aerating the must etc. I will be adding a little yeast nutrient (when I actually brew I will keep extensive records so I can figure out what went wrong later!).

Batch 1: Aiming for a medium finish mead, exactly like in the guide. 2 lb. 14 oz of Clover Honey, no additives other than yeast nutrient.

Batch 2: Exactly the same as batch 1, but with the addition of some acid blend. This batch is really just for me to learn what the difference in taste is that can come with adding acid - if anyone has a suggestion as to how much or little I should add please let me know, I'm a bit in the dark on that.