PDA

View Full Version : Joe's Grape Mead / Pyment

Roharcyn
06-19-2009, 05:45 AM
I had great results with my first batch of mead using the JAO recipe that i want to try again using this one (http://www.gotmead.com/index.php?option=com_rapidrecipe&page=viewrecipe&recipe_id=120&Itemid=459) But because I am new to all this and deviating from the recipe scares me I have i couple of questions.

1. Will changing honeys change the time line of the recipe?

2. I have read that honey is a poor nutrient for the yeast so would adding a yeast nutrient and or energizer be beneficial? Or are some honeys more nutritious thus why the mix and blend of honey is important? I have also read that raisins are a good source of nutrients for yeast so could adding some in be beneficial?

3. Can I just use a campden tablet instead of splitting a campden tablet with a potassium sorbate, I ask this because my understanding is that camped tablets kill the yeast while the the potassium sorbate just slows the yeast down. So it seems like mixing the two seems pointless, after killing the yeast with a campden tablet there is no need to retard the yeast. Or am i way off?

Your help and answers will be most appreciated.

Medsen Fey
06-19-2009, 09:24 AM
Welcome to GotMead? Roharcyn!!!

When making one of Joe's quick recipes, if you deviate from the recipe, the warranty is void. ;D

With that said, you can change the honey but that will change the flavor of the result, but probably won't affect the timeline very much.

Some honey has more nutrients and minerals than others and is easier to ferment. Buckwheat and most dark honeys contain more nitrogen and higher concentrations of mineral, and blending them in can improve the fermentation speed as well as adding some character to the flavor.

The grape juice provides a good bit of nutrient for the yeast and so you probably don't need to add more. Though a small amount of added nutrient certainly isn't going to be harmful, why use it if it isn't needed?