PDA

View Full Version : First batch of meed. Recipe run down.

RclarkEMT
07-18-2009, 01:10 AM
Greetings. This is my first post on Gotmead.com and let me say, I'm very excited to have found this site. I've been brewing beer for about 10 years now and I'm really looking forward to trying my hand at mead. After sifting through the archive of recipes on this sight I have selected and altered a recipe for my first attempt. The recipe posted as "Crazy Good Mead" (http://www.gotmead.com/index.php?option=com_rapidrecipe&page=viewrecipe&recipe_id=42&Itemid=459) in the archive has served for the inspiration for this recipe. Essentially I dropped the ingredient amounts from a 5gal batch to a 1gal batch and raised the honey to water ratio a tad. The altered recipe is as follows:

4 lbs wildflower honey (local)
1 lb blueberries
25 ounces apple cider (pasteurized)
1/4 oz Saaz hops
yeast nutrient to instructions on package
1 packs champagne yeast

Brewing plan (adapted from original recipe):

Bring 1/2 gallon of water to a boil. Add honey, bring to a boil again. Toss in the yeast nutrient and hops and boil for about a half-hour, skimming off any scum that forms on the surface during the boil.

Put berries into a hop-boiling bag. Lower heat to a very low simmer, and toss in the berries, mashing the bag around to break them up some. Continue to steep the fruit for about 10-15 minutes while you get the fermenter ready.

Put the 25 ounces of apple cider into the fermenter when the boil is about done, and then add the hot wort.

Add water to bring the total up to 1 gallon. Let cool, and pitch yeast.

When the gravity has dropped below 0.980, bottle and wait.

Any thoughts on this recipe would be greatly appreciated!

I used the mead calculator and believe my OG should land somewhere around 1.152. This could turn out to be a very strong mead, but my plan is to bulk age it at least 6 months and see where it lands (taste-wise.)