PDA

View Full Version : juice rules

meadsome
09-25-2009, 01:22 AM
hello all i am a newbie made my first batch of mead 9/9/09 its still in the primary. I still don't really know what i want to do with it because i want to make 50 different meads lol luckily i have 12 more pounds of honey. I used 12 pounds of blueberry honey. used k1V-1116 yeast with nutrients and energizer. Everything went fine but i am curious what kind of rules there are to adding "juice to the secondary of the mead" or should i add it to the primary while still somewhat active. I guess what are the do's and donts of using fruit juices. I am a newbie and have no clue so start with a basic and move up to advanced dos and donts list of using juice for mead.

Thanks
Meadsome

fatbloke
09-25-2009, 03:08 AM
hello all i am a newbie made my first batch of mead 9/9/09 its still in the primary. I still don't really know what i want to do with it because i want to make 50 different meads lol luckily i have 12 more pounds of honey. I used 12 pounds of blueberry honey. used k1V-1116 yeast with nutrients and energizer. Everything went fine but i am curious what kind of rules there are to adding "juice to the secondary of the mead" or should i add it to the primary while still somewhat active. I guess what are the do's and donts of using fruit juices. I am a newbie and have no clue so start with a basic and move up to advanced dos and donts list of using juice for mead.

Thanks
Meadsome
No expert, only how things have panned out for me.......

Juice (from whatever source), in primary takes the full force of the fermentation........

Juice in secondary, tends to retain a lot more of the fruitiness of the juice, but the sugar will invariably ferment to alcohol (unless you're adding the juice when the yeast used for the ferment is already close to it's maximum tolerance of alcohol - when that's reached, the yeast invariably will "poop out" and you're left with some residual sugar...)