PDA

View Full Version : Few questions for first Mead

Wild Duk
10-22-2009, 03:38 PM
I've been brewing beer and making wine for about 3 years, and want to try Mead out.

Got a few thing for a basic Dry Mead recipe. And I have a few questions...

1. Yeast starter, the recipe says to pitch yeast in about 1 cup of warm orange juice......haven't read this anywhere yet.....

2. Do I have to heat the honey to pasteurize. I thought I read where you could add some K-meta and mix, with no need to heat....

3. What do you guys use to top off carboys. Since this will be my first mead, I have no extra lying around to top off with....

Thanks,

looking foreward to mead making and this forum....

Arcanum
10-22-2009, 03:55 PM
It sounds like you're using a fairly old recipe. Can you post or link to the whole thing?

A common practice is to prep the yeast in a cup of warm water with some Go-Ferm or similar yeast energizer in it, then add other nutrients to the must after the lag phase (mead musts are very nutrient-poor). The warm orange juice thing sounds vaguely familiar, but it's not really the norm.

As a rule, as long as you're fairly religious about sanitizing your equipment it is unnecessary to add K-meta or pasteurize. Honey itself has nontrivial antimicrobial properties for various reasons.

I've heard of using sanitized glass beads to fill empty space in a carboy. One way to avoid having empty space to fill is to do most or all your fermentation in a 6.5 gallon plastic fermenter and actually make 5.5 gallon batches instead of 5 gallon batches.

If you don't have it yet, I very strongly recommend picking up and reading The Compleat Meadmaker (http://www.gotmead.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1279&Itemid=419). It is as close to a meadmaking bible as such a rapidly developing hobby as meadmaking has.

Oskaar
10-22-2009, 03:56 PM
I've been brewing beer and making wine for about 3 years, and want to try Mead out.