PDA

View Full Version : Forgot To Measure Initial Specific Gravity!

alaskajoe
10-24-2009, 01:48 PM
I started my first batch of mead 6 days ago and completely forgot to take the inital specific gravity reading. I'm pretty new to this whole thing...is there any way to start my readings now and make any use of it all with no baseline to compare to?

akueck
10-24-2009, 02:05 PM
You can get an estimate of your OG by using your recipe. And yes, tracking the SG now is still very useful.

alaskajoe
10-24-2009, 02:14 PM
My original recipe is as follows:
12 lbs of orange blossom honey
4.5 gallons of water
2 packets of d-47 lalvin yeast
yeast nutrient (not sure what exactly, the homebrew store lady said it was the right stuff)
4-5 sliced pears
2 slitted vanilla beans.

How do I go about estimating my OG based on that?

I went to go take a SG reading just now, and cannot find my hydrometer anywhere. I guess I will go get a new one and take it tonight.

akueck
10-24-2009, 03:02 PM
Check out the mead calculator (linked from the main page). There are instructions for use there and many, many threads on the forum about it. By entering the ingredients you used, it will estimate the OG. The pears will probably have a negligible effect so you could leave those out for a first approximation. Be sure to enter the total volume for the "volume" slot, not the volume of water you used.

alaskajoe
10-24-2009, 08:12 PM
Thanks so much for your advice thus far...it really means a lot, you taking the time to reply.

My meads current stats are this: temperature is an even 65 degrees f. Current specific gravity appears to be 1.080. Current aroma and taste is very sweet. It's been on since the afternoon of Sunday 10/18/09. All is bubbling nicely.

I went to the mead calulator, but couldn't seem to find the box that tells me the OG. I may have a learning disability. :icon_blackeye:

akueck
10-24-2009, 08:58 PM
Bottom left corner. ;)

alaskajoe
10-24-2009, 09:17 PM