PDA

View Full Version : maybe a total noob mistake

Erin
11-07-2009, 03:03 AM
Hi!

so i have been researching this site for a while now and i started off with JAO (joes anchient orange) and i think i screwed up a lil bit.

ive made a 3 gallon batch (smallest carboy at the local fermenters supply) and triplicated all the ingrediants except the yeast. i only doubled that because i read on here full multiplier isnt nessesary in that department.

but where i think i went wrong is the honey. i dont think i did a very good job mixing it with the water. it seems that nearly all of it is at the bottom... thats bad, huh?

i mixed everything yesterday, and its bubbleing gently. should i attempt to stir the botom? add yeast? your thoughts?

thnks!! -Erin

ZachR
11-07-2009, 03:38 AM
I would think that you want to get that honey mixed in asap. Just make sure you degas it so you don't make a mead geyser.

Erin
11-07-2009, 03:46 AM
ok, so to get that honey up off the bottom would a power drill attachment be acceptable? ive seen on here people use it for other things.

degas. let it breath?

akueck
11-07-2009, 04:06 AM
The honey will slowly dissolve, so you don't necessarily have to get it stirred in 100%. Personally I would still recommend giving it a stir.

"Degas" means get the gas out of solution. If you use a drill, start very slowly. The CO2 will come out of the liquid and you don't want it all to come out at once (think warm bottle of soda after you shake it up--BOOM). If you don't use a drill, start very slowly. Start very slowly. ;)

fatbloke
11-07-2009, 05:03 AM
you actually have 2 choices........

because while it's probably better to have the honey properly mixed into solution (so use a long handled plastic spoon and start gently until the whole batch is swirling and mixing the honey), or secondly you can leave it as the yeast will work it's way through it eventually.