PDA

View Full Version : How many batches of mead a year do you make?

keepitlow
12-07-2009, 07:55 PM
How many batches of mead a year do you make?

Did the number change from when you were a beginner as opposed to a more knowledgeable mead maker?

What sparked this question was the fact that the book says to age mead 6 months to a year. So if you make one batch and wait a year to find out it is crap...that time span to learn must make it tough to progress quickly.

AToE
12-07-2009, 08:05 PM
That's my thoughts exactly. I've been doing this for only 6 months-ish, but I've done more than 20 batches already, some small some bigger. Some of it has been ready to drink as early as 3 months (not that it wouldn't improve with more though) and some is at 6 months and still not very good (probably will never be good in some cases). To me this makes 1 gal batches superior for beginners to bigger batches, even though it is extremely dissapointing to see how fast each batch dissapears after bottling.

I'm trying to do a lot of side by side testing to accellerate my learning. For example, early in the new year I will be doing 10 identical batches of traditional dry mead (right down to having been mixed a single 10 gal batch of must) using 10 different yeasts. I've also already got some side by side testing going for different yeasts in blueberry melomels, and different aging styles with maple wines.

So, while I'm definitely still very much a newb, I feel that I am a lot further along the learning curve than someone might be at the 1/2 year mark, and at least most of my failures have been only a gallon lost, and at the most 15-25 bucks and some time wasted.

Big Mac
12-07-2009, 08:09 PM
I learned this weekend to keep a brewlog for EVERYTHING. About three months ago I threw together a cyser, and racked it this past weekend, taking a small sample. It is AMAZING. And I haven't a clue what yeast I used. I'm thinking it's D47.