PDA

View Full Version : What am I getting into?

dr9
12-12-2009, 11:54 PM
I have brewed beer, I have a stout brewing now. But I'm no expert. I want mead.

I've read the beginner stuff here and many other posts. I have some questions.

First, what I want to brew first is a Moody Melomel.

17 pounds local Sourwood honey (upstate SC)
4 gallons spring water from Moody Spring (upstate SC)
1 gallon fresh press cider from Mountain Rest SC

I like the regional feel, all ingredients from the same square mile.

Wyeast 3632 Dry Mead (17%)

According to the calculator on this site, the yeast should give out while there's still a decent amount of sugar in the brew, but that's 100% assumption.

I want a still product, not sparkling.

I want to add the apple cider after the fermentation to retain the flavor and sweetness.

Using 2 gallons of the water to heat up (low, like 120, just to ease the stirring but not lose many aromatics and such) and stir in the honey, I would use the other two gallons (cold) to oxygenate in batches in a food processor before combining in the bucket.

I want a ~17% ABV product that is sweet and still.

Questions:

1: What jumps out as a potential FAIL?

2: What kind of yeast nutrient do I need? The beginner guide sort of glossed over the nuances of this.

3: Since I want to taste the apple, is 1 gallon plus 4 enough, or should I go 2/3? And should I add the cider right off the bat, or wait until secondary or bottling?

4: What is the ultimate benefit of simulating Oak aging in this kind of recipe?

5: How long should I expect to have this bottled before it could be considered "done"?

Thanks!

Edit: I see it's a Cyser, not a melomel.

6: How do you pronounce Cyser?

wayneb
12-13-2009, 12:40 AM
First, as a beer brewer you're probably familiar with RDWHAH (Relax, Don't Worry, Have a Homebrew). Those sage words are probably even more applicable to meadmaking, since even more patience is required as your mead develops and ages.