PDA

View Full Version : NewBee looking for some advice.

Boris
12-26-2009, 12:47 PM
Hello there,

I'm new to GotMead.com and also new to mead-brewing alltogether. I do have experience brewing wine and some other beverages as well. After reading through the newbee guide and a bunch of forum threads and other recipes, I still have some questions that I'd like answered before starting with my first batch, first I have a few general questions:

1) How can i measure the percentage of sugar in my honey, to determine how much I should use?

2) Can I use the same yeast for mead as I use for making wine?

3) Can I use the same hydrometer I use for checking wine for mead? or is there a difference?

Also, I was wondering what advice you could give me regarding the specific mead I'd like to make, and tell me if there are any difficulties I could encounter.

What I'm planning to make is a simple show mead, with wildlower honey from a local beekeeper. I'm planning to start of with a batch of one gallon, so I can see if it works before starting with a bigger one.

Is it advisable to start of with a show mead, or would it be easy for me to ruin it by making little mistakes?

Also I'd like to know if it's a problem to use wildflower honey of which I know absolutely nothing other than that bees made it...?

Well, that's about it for now:)

tatgeer
12-26-2009, 02:00 PM
2) Can I use the same yeast for mead as I use for making wine?

3) Can I use the same hydrometer I use for checking wine for mead? or is there a difference?

Is it advisable to start of with a show mead, or would it be easy for me to ruin it by making little mistakes?

Also I'd like to know if it's a problem to use wildflower honey of which I know absolutely nothing other than that bees made it...?

Well, that's about it for now:)

2. Yes; some recipes will specify the type of yeast. There are also mead yeasts available.
3. Yes