PDA

View Full Version : What do you use to measure SG?

jaxn slim
01-12-2010, 05:10 PM
I've been using a hydrometer for about 3 years now. Since my experience is mostly in beer, it has been very practical. However, now that I'm getting into 1-gallon batches of mead which require several SG measurements, it does not seem as ideal to siphon out 1/4 cup for each gravity test.

Do you use refractometers? I know nearly nothing about these. Are there certain things to look for in them. Do you have a specific one to recommend?

Or am I thinking about this all wrong?

AToE
01-12-2010, 05:20 PM
I use a hydrometer and just sanitize everything well, and then dump the sample back into the main fementer.

I know I'm in the minority in that practice, but I haven't had a problem yet (I thought I had contaminated batches at one point, but it turned out to just be floating honey gunk, wax particles and such).

For 1 gal batches I agree with you, even a single sample or two can leave you with headspace issues and seems like a high % waste.

JamesP
01-12-2010, 06:22 PM
refer to http://www.gotmead.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7453&highlight=method+weight If you only want qualitative not quantitative information on the fermentation progress (in english, is it still fermenting or has it stopped),

then weigh your carboy (assuming small batches that your scales can measure).

When there is no change in weight due to CO2 escaping through the air lock, then fermentation should be near its end, so take your final gravity hydrometer readings only then.

If you do a combination of weight and hydrometer readings (trying to minimise loss of must volume), then you can start to predict SG by weight change, which may give you more quantitative information.

Fermentation progress is probably some inverse exponential decay, like:

SG
|
|x
| x
| x
| x
| x
| x
| x
| x
+---------------------------------------------------------------
time ->

skunkboy
01-12-2010, 07:40 PM