PDA

View Full Version : Flash pasteurizing instead of campden?

SaltDuck
01-22-2010, 03:00 AM
Hi everyone. I've been reading the posts on this site for a while, but I finally have a question (hopefully) worth posting.

I'm kind of a mead newbie. I've made about 8 five gallon batches so far. A peach melomel, a pear melomel and a bunch of batches of honey mead (same water and honey but 6 diifferent kinds of yeast so I could tell how each one changes the honey).

So far I haven't had any bad experiences. I've been making wine for a couple of years and brewing beer for a couple of decades.

I was wondering, if instead of using campden to create a hostile yeast environment before bottling - what would be the effects of boiling or flash pasteurizing instead? Are there any filtering options that would get the yeast out of the mead?

I ask because my wife often has a (sulfite?) headache after drinking my mead. No she doesn't overdo it :D - But I'm wondering if there is a non-chemical way of neutralizing the yeast?

Thanks!

Smarrikåka
01-22-2010, 07:19 AM
It works. You don't need to boil, bringing it to around 120 F, should do the job. The effects are that the mead will taste slightly different (a kind of cooked flavour). I'm not sure if flash pasteurizing would affect the taste less than regular heating, but I guess flash pasteurizing to a not a not that high degree would be most effective in perserving flavour.

It is possible to stabilize by filtration as well, but I'm not sure what the exact size of the filter needs to be.

Medsen Fey
01-22-2010, 11:14 AM
I would love to find a way to try flash pasteurization, but I've haven't seen a practical way to do it at home. You can heat quickly with a microwave, and I suppose you run it through a coil in as ice batch to rapidly cool it, but designing a system to do this without excessive oxygen exposure probably requires more technical and engineering expertise than I possess.