PDA

View Full Version : Airlock backflow

masterhaleco
01-30-2010, 03:24 PM
I'm relatively new to mead making (mostly a beer brewer), but have pulled off a couple fairly successful batches.

I have a batch going right now that's about 7 weeks in and just now I noticed that the airlock was actually sucking the water backwards into the carboy. there's probably 2 1/2 gallons of mead in this 3 gallon carboy, and I've racked it twice since I started, though it's been a week or so since the last racking, but I haven't mucked with it in any other way. I purged the new carboys with CO2 before each racking. The original gravity was 1.099 and the fermentation was fairly quick and the mead has already cleared a couple weeks ago and been steady at 1.004 so it's more or less ready to be bottled (which I'll hopefully do in this coming week)

The question is, what would cause the pressure to reverse like that and is there anything I should do to make sure it hasn't been contaminated?

I'm planning to make it sparkle, so I'm not planning to stablize it with anything so I can bottle condition it. I always sanitize my airlocks when I rack and use clean water in them, but by now (a week or more since the last rack) I wouldn't consider them totally sanitary. The only reason I can come up with is that slight temperature fluctuations cause it to push air out when it's warmed up and hence suck back when it cools (the carboy is at the mercy of our home's thermostat, though it doesn't fluctuate much: 61-65 degrees). But this seems like a somewhat week hypothesis.

Oh, and the style airlock I'm using is the kind with the little inverted cup sitting on top of the air tube. If that matters at all. And the recipe was a simple 7 lbs wildflower honey boiled briefly with a little grapefruit juice for acidity and some yeast nutrient and redstar champagne yeast.

Thanks.

Medsen Fey
01-30-2010, 03:42 PM
Welcome masterhaleco!