PDA

View Full Version : Bad fermentation resulted in a better mead

Cleber Olivo
04-08-2010, 09:10 AM
Hi all!

I am new in the meadmaking and need some help to troubleshot 2 mead recipes.

1st Recipe (August 2009):
- Wild flower honey and water enough to 25 BRIX (sweet mead).
- Fleischmann yeast (Saccharomyces cerevisiae) from market.
- I didn't used any energizer or yeast nutrient.
- My fermentation finished after 3 months :mad:
- Racking done without any clarifier
- Resulted in a cloudy mead with a strong taste (I guess it was yeast taste). This taste disappeared with time.

2nd Recipe (December 2009)
- Same honey, same BRIX
- Lalvin 71B yeast
- Used fermaid K and DAP
- Fermentation ended after 2 weeks ;D
- Racking with sparkolloid
- Resulted in a beautiful and a very clear mead

Both of the two recipes are aging in glass bottles.

What my friends said:
- On december we drank the 1st mead and we liked it (since then I use to bring a small bottle every months and everyone who drinks it approves my mead).
- On march we drank the 2st recipe. It was good, but not enough like the 1st recipe. Some friends said that the 1st one had more consistency than de 2nd.

So here is my question: why the mead with bad fermentation resulted in a tastier mead???

Medsen Fey
04-08-2010, 10:02 AM
Welcome to GotMead Cleber!

That's very interesting. Let me ask you what was the fermentation temperature in both cases? I ask because bread yeast often do better at warmer temps than do wine yeast like 71B.

Were you tasting these meads side by side? If not, it is really hard to judge. Oskaar suggests doing triangular blind tasting (pouring 2 glasses of one batch and 1 glass of another). If you can identify the one that is different, you know you are picking up a real difference.

Is the final gravity of both meads the same, or is the bread yeast batch sweeter? A sweeter batch will taste better early on in a meads life (and later too if you ask my wife :) ).