• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

A little green mold in primary

Barrel Char Wood Products

Earthson

NewBee
Registered Member
Hello,

I'm a total noob to mead, and barely a novice with beer (been brewing beer for about 6 months). Sorry for this long post, but it I've read that DETAILS make all the difference.

Anyway, I just siphoned my 2nd batch of mead out of the plastic pail today (after about 25 days). There was the typical white yeasty stuff on the surface, and covering a few lemon segments. No big deal. But, there was also an ugly little spot (size of a quarter...maybe bigger) of green mold floating on the surface. - no, I don't have a photo, 'cause I panicked and immediately siphoned it into the glass carboy :rolleyes: - as if the extra 30 seconds would have made a difference. :rolleyes:

Anyway, I had read somewhere in the forums that the mead can be saved by siphoning from the bottom, and leaving a little extra mead in the pail. I also read that it should be fine as long as it tastes ok. It tasted fine and I see no evidence in the carboy of any spoilage.

So, anything I need to do, or is it just a waiting game?