• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Where can i find honey?

Barrel Char Wood Products

JacquesDeschamps

NewBee
Registered Member
Mar 17, 2010
Hi I'm Jacques but everyone just calls me Bob. I'm new to meadmaking and I was wondering if anyone could tell me where to get quality honey near Montreal. I've been looking on the internet but the shipping fees for honey are just too high for my budget. I"m gonna try my first batch of mead with costco honey, not really because its cheap but rather because its the only thing I could find.

At first i was thinking of making Joe's ancient orange recipe but I'm not sure it'll turn out great with fleishmann's bread yeast, and if its gonna cost me 60$ of honey a batch I'd really like to know if its worth it or if i should just go ahead and try a more complicated recipe right away. Also if anyone has a link to a good recipe I'd really appreciate it :)

Thx in advance for the help from a new homebrewer

AToE

NewBee
Registered Member
Jun 8, 2009
Calgary AB Canada