PDA

View Full Version : Help! Keeping mead safe durring termite treatment

thechromeknight
06-18-2010, 10:04 PM
Hello everyone!
I've been coming here for a few years now, and I finally have a question that I didn't see somewhere already :-)

So...
I have some meads that are aging in a spare closet. (it has a door).
I just found out that my landlord is going to have the building tented in about a week for termite spray or whatever it is they do when they tent your building for termites.
I am worried about the mead getting ruined! (poisoned).

Moving them would be very difficult, but not impossible.
I have one 3-gal carboy, a 3-gal bucket (primary fermenter) and four 1-gal carboys.
I have caps for the 1-gal's. Would it be safe if I capped those, and maybe put trash bags over all of them? (and tied them up so that they were as airtight as possible?)
Even with Airlocks?
(if it helps, they are all done fermenting and are all in the aging stage)

I am hoping someone out there has experience with this :-)

Thanks for your time!

fatbloke
06-19-2010, 03:09 AM
Hello everyone!
I've been coming here for a few years now, and I finally have a question that I didn't see somewhere already :-)

So...
I have some meads that are aging in a spare closet. (it has a door).
I just found out that my landlord is going to have the building tented in about a week for termite spray or whatever it is they do when they tent your building for termites.
I am worried about the mead getting ruined! (poisoned).

Moving them would be very difficult, but not impossible.
I have one 3-gal carboy, a 3-gal bucket (primary fermenter) and four 1-gal carboys.
I have caps for the 1-gal's. Would it be safe if I capped those, and maybe put trash bags over all of them? (and tied them up so that they were as airtight as possible?)
Even with Airlocks?
(if it helps, they are all done fermenting and are all in the aging stage)

I am hoping someone out there has experience with this :-)

Thanks for your time!