PDA

View Full Version : Headspace Reduction Idea/Questions

Daddywags
07-02-2010, 08:58 PM
Hi Everyone,

I'm completely new to meadmaking: I just started 3 gallons of meadowfoam sack mead, which is bubbling merrily away in my brand new primary bucket. Unfortunately, being a newbee, I've also made some mistakes: In retrospect, I should have made 4 gallons, to account for racking losses.

I've been extensively reading the forums for ideas on headspace reduction and the idea that I like the most is to buy glass marbles/aquarium gems/stones and drop them into the secondary.

Unfortunately, I'm uncomfortable with the idea of putting something in that could potentially leach heavy metals/chemicals into my expensive mead. Call me paranoid, but it just seems that there have been way too many scandals involving toxic toys and pet products (frequently, though not always from, China.)

I have an alternative idea: Pyrex rods! Glassworkers buy these borosilicate rods to use in glass sculpture. They come in many different diameters: I could buy them in a diameter that just fits through a carboy's mouth. Another great feature is that I could cut them to lengths that would allow me to lower them gently into the carboy, instead of dropping marbles all the way from the neck to the bottom (with a sickening clacking sound.) I could also probably weave a racking cane past the rods and all the way to the bottom, which could eliminate the mead loss that some people complain about when using marbles.

Here's the website I've been looking at: I'm not affiliated with them in any way.

http://tinyurl.com/2cjapog

I've been doing some calculations: The glass is sold in 5 foot lengths, and I'd need about 8 of them (at 20 mm in diameter) to fill a gallon of space. The bill would come out to about $108 plus shipping and handling, which is a lot more than I'd like to pay. But I'm hoping that I won't need to fill a whole gallon of space.