PDA

View Full Version : Yeast suggestions/recommendations

crimsondrac
07-09-2010, 10:40 AM
OK, I am starting to plan my first batch of non-JAO mead. I want to try to make a pure honey mead, no added fruits or spices, at least not during initial fermentation. I would like for it to finish semi-sweet with an ABV about 14%.

I was looking at either Lalvin 71B or 1CV/D-47. As I am really new to this, I was hoping some of the pros may have some suggestions. I have narrowed it down to these two from just info I have read off websites. I would like some input from someone who actually knows. I am open to other strains as well.

Any advice will be appreciated, even regarding making a pure honey mead.

Medsen Fey
07-09-2010, 10:57 AM
Another readily available yeast to consider would be Red Star's Cote des Blancs. And of course, if you are open to stabilizing and backsweetening, you can use lots of other choices.

What type of honey do you plan to use?
What kind of fermentation temperature will you be able to maintain?

crimsondrac
07-09-2010, 11:53 AM
I have found this really sweet, raw wildflower honey from a local source here in Alvin TX. It will be fermenting in a closet that stays between 70-75 degrees.

I was looking at the Red Star strains but could not really find info on how they finished or if it was for dry wines or not. Will the Blanc finish semi-sweet?

Medsen Fey
07-09-2010, 12:05 PM
Whether it finishes sweet will depend on the starting gravity. This is true of all yeast. Cote des Blancs has a typical alcohol tolerance of around 14%, so if you start with a gravity above 1.105, you'll likely end with some residual sweetness. If you start with a lower gravity, it will probably go dry.

If you can't keep the temp at 72 F or below, I'd avoid the D47. At room temp, it creates fusels that will taste like paint thinner for a very long time.