• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Quick Mead Aging Question

Barrel Char Wood Products

vrohver

NewBee
Registered Member
Aug 17, 2010
Upstate New York
I'm new to Mead and have made a few recipes that you would age for several months to a year, and then some that were Quick or Short Mead's that must be consumed in about a month or so.

My questions is this, what makes the difference between conventional Mead's and Quick Mead's as far as aging?

Also, can you simply change a Quick Mead so that you can age it?

AToE

NewBee
Registered Member
Jun 8, 2009
Calgary AB Canada
Well, I haven't actually seen a "quick" recipe that specifically said it couldn't be aged, in fact many people say they just get better, only that they are good to go sooner. Which recipes are you talking about? There are a few famous quick meads around this site.

vrohver

NewBee
Registered Member
Aug 17, 2010
Upstate New York